Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

To continue along with the romantic theme this week, today’s we’re going to take a look at Pride and Prejudice, one of my all-time favorites.

I actually read this novel when I was 10 years old and in 4th grade because I’d heard about the story and I didn’t want to wait to read it later when I was more “grown up”. It took me awhile to read the book and I had a dictionary by my side to clarify things as needed, but I fell in love with this story and everything about it. And thus, with the following line, my deep and abiding love for British literature was born:

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.

I demand to know why people don’t write and talk like this anymore!

Moving on… this is the first line of what is arguably Jane Austen’s most famous work, Pride and Prejudice. (With Emma and Sense & Sensibility not too far behind.)

This story follows the Bennett family: an overdramatic and overzealous mother, a quietly reserved though loving father, and five sisters that, while related, couldn’t be more different in some ways. (I’ve always had a secret soft spot for Mary because her love was unrequited and she was almost always overlooked.) It’s the sweet love story of Jane Bennett and Mr. Charles Bingley and the stubborn love story of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy.  Most of you have seen or heard the story in some format or another.

I’m not one to usually suggest following up reading a book with watching the movie, but in this case I will. I don’t mean the Keira Knightley version though (although for a short version it was pretty enjoyable). No, if you haven’t already done so please invest the time in watching the mid-90’s version from A&E that starred Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy (and clocks in somewhere around the 5-hour mark). The casting is fantastic, the movie is beautiful, and it follows the book so closely you could almost turn page by page along with the actors!

Besides, how could you turn down the strikingly handsome Colin Firth? I mean, just look at this man.

Professional Image

And with that smoldering stare of propriety I bid you good night.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

  1. Easily one of my favorite books! I’ve read mine so many times, there are actually cracks in the spine (hardly any of my books suffer that fate).

    Oooo, I love Colin Firth as Darcy! No one has played that role better than him. :-)

  2. Ah yes, love both the book and the movie – the Colin Firth version. I read it for the first time in high school and was swept away by the beauty of the language and the dashing Mr. Darcy!

  3. A resounding “yes!” for your choice of the A&E version of Pride and Prejudice. I love the story too much to see it condensed. And no excuse is ever needed to watch five hours of Colin Firth! Great post. Thanks for visiting my blog and I’ll see you around the campaign.

Leave a Reply

