GD & TOP, the ‘High’ Standard of Rap

I am not a fan of rap. There. I said it. I like the beat okay, but rappers just don’t do it for me. I’m not interested. I don’t care what they have to say. It’s all in one ear and out the other.

Over the past few months I’ve realized something though. I have no issue with rap as a genre. I have an issue with the only way I’ve ever seen it portrayed in America. As I’ve listened to some Japanese rap and now Korean rap, I’ve come to love certain artists. I have a great deal of respect for their lyrics as well since most of their raps are very poetic, nothing like what the majority of American rap will give you.

I’ve recently discovered GD (G-Dragon) and TOP from Big Bang and these boys not only make me swoon, but I love their attitudes, the way their personalities compliment each other so well, their very unique voices, and the dedication they put into writing their raps.

Professional Image

There’s a line from their song “Knock Out” that translates to something along the lines of “TOP and GD are like almond and chocolate.” I couldn’t have said it better myself. As much as I love them with the full Big Bang group, G-Dragon and TOP are a rare and delicious treat when they venture off to create music as a duo.

GD & TOP’s song “High High” isn’t exactly one of their deepest songs lyrically, but I very much enjoy how much fun it is. I hope you will too.

(I can’t find an un-fan-edited version of the music video for this song, so below you’ll find one of their first live performances of it instead!)

5 thoughts on “GD & TOP, the ‘High’ Standard of Rap

    • To me music is like writing, I do my best to appreciate even the stuff I don’t like. It’s because to someone out there it means something! And I don’t want to tread on that. =)

Leave a Reply

