The Queens of K-Pop: Girls’ Generation

First off, a HUGE thank you to Tameri over at A Cup of Tea and Sorcery for pimping/promoting me on her blog today! Today’s post is for her!

Also, WELCOME to any new people!

(If you’ve been sent over by the awesome Tameri and this is your first time visiting, check out the tabs at the top of the page. That’s the easiest way to find more links to my Asian music and drama reviews, my book reviews, articles I’ve published about writing, and just a little about me.)

Onward…

I’ve covered several boy bands on the Korean pop scene so far. Honestly I usually like the boys better than the girls so I’m always featuring them. But today we’re going to feature some of the girls.

Girls’ Generation (also known as Sonyeo Shidae, SNSD, GG, or Shoujo Jidai) have been around for the last 5 years and they are one of the few girl pop groups who consistently put out material I enjoy.

The 9 girls of SNSD
Professional Image

One of the things I particularly love about these girls over several of the other girl groups I’ve seen is that they seem to be good role models. They know how to come across as very sexy without being in your face about it as I’ve seen so many other groups do.

They’ve actually released an album here in the US! But the Korean version of the song ‘Boys’ is still my favorite. (The American version is a little too shallow for me. I think it’s kind of sad that the song writers felt the need to dumb down the lyrics for the English version. It’s also a commentary on what’s ‘hip’ in America. Ugh.)

Anyway, I want to share 2 videos today. The first is sweet, the second a bit darker, but they tie into each other a little so I’ll post them in order. I love them both, but ‘Oh!’ is my favorite SNSD song I’ve heard so far! Something about it just has the perfect amount of sugary sweetness without being overdone.

Oh! (I dare you to not hum this to yourself later.)

Run Devil Run (Another excellent and very catchy song.)

One thought on “The Queens of K-Pop: Girls’ Generation

  1. Ooo! I love Run Devil Run. It’s nice to get some girls in the mix. Is it just me, or do they all have super long legs? I like the choreography, too. Oh, and those pink boots in the first video, those are kind of awesome. Yeah, I guess you could say I like the girls as much as the boys. Except Ren. I like him best of all. ;)

Leave a Reply

