Post-Conference Highs & Pre-NaNo Jitters

Oh my. It’s that time of year again. October.

That means the Ozark Creative Writers conference has come and gone (hopefully more on that in a later post) and NaNoWriMo is about to begin. This is the time of year when I’m fired up for writing and terrified of it all at the same time. The time when I have to remind myself that I do all of this not because I expect publication or awards or a six-figure income… but because I love it. Plain and simple.

After all, I’m still a newbie. All I can do is dream, plan for those dreams, work hard, submit my work, wait, and maybe someday I’ll write something good enough that falls in the right hands to take off. That’s all any of us can do.

Today I’m making a list of all things to get done pre-NaNo. If I’m lucky that will tone down some of the anxiety. I started this book in NaNo 2010. I am promising myself it will be finished this year. (I don’t work on this particular novel any other time of the year, not while in first draft stage anyway.)

As I do every NaNo, I will be using my blog as a daily progress update (or as daily as I can manage). There will likely not be any other posts during November. That being said, I will be working on a post-NaNo social media plan that will hopefully allow me to post more regularly and frequently than I have the last few months.

Between now and November 1st you can look for 2 posts from me. One will be a  conference review. The other will be on Samhain (October 31st) when I take a look back at last year’s resolutions and make new ones for the coming year.

Thank you to all who continue to follow this blog! You inspire me and encourage me. I will do my best to provide you with more and better content in the months to come!

5 thoughts on “Post-Conference Highs & Pre-NaNo Jitters

    • Best of luck! I tried that last year and ended up a complete mess with it, so I don’t think that tactic works for me. But I do know some people it does work for! =) That’s what I love about NaNo. It’s just inspiration for us to get work done, novel or not!

  1. I am doing NaNo for the first time this year, and I so agree… I’m excited and feeling jazzed about my writing, but I’m also terrified. I haven’t done near the amount of pre-planning that I hoped to, but I’m excited to see what I can produce in a month. Even if it’s 25,000, it’s a success. That’s what I keep telling myself.

    I know all my blog posts in November will be NaNo-based, so I hope people don’t get sick of hearing from me about it.

    Wishing you much success. If you want to buddy me, I’m TiaBach.

Leave a Reply

